Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Serious Compact Camera?

This has probably been discussed several times before, but in a quick search of the forum I didn't find any recent threads, plus camera models seem to change minute by minute. I've been shooting 35mm SLR for many years. I have a little compact digital for family pictures. I shoot mostly landscapes, and have been hauling cameras and lenses up to very high places long enough that loosing some of that weight would be great (as well as having a camera small enough to take anywhere). Small digital cameras seem to take pretty good pictures, but they also seem to have some compromises. What I'm wondering is if there are any serious pocket sized cameras. By serious I mean-

-8 megapixels or more for large prints (seems quite common)

-has a lens threaded for filters (I know, hard to make with the built in lens caps most employ, but it's something I'd like)

-has a manual mode with bulb setting

-tripod mount (seems pretty standard)

-and I know this one's a dream, but- has the ability to IR pictures (with an IR filter)

Re: Serious Compact Camera?

Quote Originally Posted by California L33