Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Canon Digital Cameras

Hey all!

Sorry, I'm an advanced beginner if anything to digital photography, and I'm planning on making my first very major purchase. I've decided to pick a Canon camera. I don't know which one. Is any of these a great investment?: Powershot S50, G2, G3, G5. Let me give you the low prices, in case they may help:

S50--$333
    G2--$309
    G3--$439
    G4--$442

How would it matter if I got the G2 rather than the G3 or G5? Or, rather than the S50?

Feel free to suggest other cameras and other brands. I am searching for good quality night and day, inside and outside, and good amount of options. Thank for listening. Great thanks to anyone who can help!

Thuan

id go the G5

just because it has that extra Mp over the G3 but id also go into the store and get a hold of them, feel the differences, then youll know which feels better.
    Or wait till all the new canon P&S cameras come out and see what they have to offer.Some look nice like the Powershot pro 1 8Mp with good lenses and other upgrades on the G series of cameras.

Sitting in a Leaky Dingy Michael Fanelli's Avatar

Canon...

Quote Originally Posted by redpockets
    Hey all!

Sorry, I'm an advanced beginner if anything to digital photography, and I'm planning on making my first very major purchase. I've decided to pick a Canon camera. I don't know which one. Is any of these a great investment?: Powershot S50, G2, G3, G5.
    Thuan