• 10-20-2004, 07:56 PM
    RoseLover
    Dimage A2 - Noise pollution!
    I have a Konica-Minolta Dimage A2. Apparently I have a rare "Jekyll-Hyde" version. Or maybe you all will tell me it's not so rare. Or maybe you'll tell me it's operator error! I can never tell from one session to the next whether my pictures are going to turn out fantastic (that is, clear with no noise) or horrible (loaded with little noise marks, they look like \\\\\ across the image). Is it just me? I'm a newbie here (in fact, this is my first post) and I under-utilize the camera's functionality, pretty much doing point & shoot picture taking. (This is what led me here-- I want to get a little more sophisticated in my picture-taking). In other words I haven't set the ISO, WB or other settings. I've just let the camera take care of all that-- that may be where I'm going wrong.

I've put an example of the garbage I'm getting here. I was so disappointed that the gorgeous scenery was marred with these marks:
    <A HREF="http://www.artfulx.com/a2.html">Noisy Picture</A>

In particular, look between the two trees in the crop of the original image. You can't miss the stuff.

I'm incredibly frustrated because this was not an inexpensive camera. I am wishing at this point that I'd bought the Rebel 300.

Any suggestions? I hate the roulette feeling of never knowing if this picture series will turn out or not. I should mention that the cases where I've had the problems have been scenics. I love nature shots. Of course it never acts up when I'm just taking pictures of the kids playing around the house! When it's good, I get awesome images. But when it's bad... I want to cry.

Thanks for your help!
    Alicia
  • 10-21-2004, 01:10 PM
    SmartWombat
    Re: Dimage A2 - Noise pollution!
    I took a look, and I couldn't see the marks immediately.
    I had to zoom it to 200% before I could spot the problem.
    It seems to be restricted to shadow (dark green) areas.