Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

aperture on canon powershot S3IS digital camera

Hi Im relatively new to shooting digital and i was wondering if there are any other powershot users out there who can help me. I love the camera its got some pretty cool features on it but one thing that i am confused on, the highest aperture setting on the manual mode is F8.0
    im alittle confused on this. so first question why is the highest 8.0 and not something like F22, I've messed around with and the 2.7 is there and it looks to me that when i want foreground or background out of focus and the 8.0 works pretty well on giving me a greater depth of field ok so we're all fine there
    however.......what is the translation from 35.mm F8("who cares" aperture) and F22(Foreground to Background focus) brought into the digital realm F2.7 F3.2 F3.5 F4.0 F4.5 F5.0 F5.6 F6.3 F7.1 F8.0

if anyone can answer this for me it would be greatly appreciated

Check out our D300 Pro Review! deckcadet's Avatar

Re: aperture on canon powershot S3IS digital camera

[QUOTE=Kidrobot]Hi Im relatively new to shooting digital and i was wondering if there are any other powershot users out there who can help me. I love the camera its got some pretty cool features on it but one thing that i am confused on, the highest aperture setting on the manual mode is F8.0 [quote]

Well, this is pretty typical of Point and Shoot cameras, even the advanced ones. The aperture is a function of the lens of course.