Thread: The G1

JimB

The G1

Hi

I needed to replace my secondary camera to go to places that taking my Nikon to that would not be a good idea. So I retired my Konica-Minolta A2 and I pruchased a Panasonic G1, with the 14-45 mm and 45-200 mm lenses. I am still learning the camera and all it's controls and settings and having fun.

There are things that I think Nikon should take note and include in there next camera. And there are things that Panasonic should pay more attention to.

The EVF viewfinder is very very good and the control icons are well placed and easy to understand and manipulate. The LCD is also very good and I like the fact that it can be flip so it it can be hidden from normal ware and tear and scratches.

The pictures I have taken are very good but some looks like the focus is a little soft but the exposures are right on.

The G2 has some minor changes in the control locations which may be a plus. But the video mode I can do without. And the touch screen, I don't know if I would like or not since I have some sweatty hands, probably not.

Overall I think Panasonic has a real winner with the G series cameras.

JimB

Re: The G1

Jim-
    I got tired of looking at your lonely, unresponded-to post. It's a shame no one replied. It's a good post and a nice mini review of the G1. I think the Micro Four Thirds cameras are a very good choice as a compact backup/replacement for a DSLR. The G1 is also a great replacement for your old Konica Minolta. Is there anything you miss about the A2? The Konica Minolta A-Series superzooms were great cameras back when they were current. I reviewed the A200 in 2004 and really liked it. We've come a long way since then, though.

I hope your G1 is working well for you. I'd like to see some photos you've shot with it. And I'd also really like for you to post a real review in the user reviews - when you're ready, of course
    Photo-John

Your reviews are the foundation of this site - Write A Review!

JimB

Hi