Canon Cameras Equipment Forum

For discussing all things Canon - Canon digital SLRs, Canon PowerShot digital cameras, Canon film cameras, lenses, accessories, etc. Your Canon Cameras Forum moderator is livin4lax09.
Canon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Canon Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 35mm Film SLR Reviews >>
All Canon Product Reviews >>
Canon Cameras & History >>

Thread: New buyer!

New buyer!

I'm a college digital photography student using a Canon Rebel XTi (my brother's) and I'm finally going to go on and make my FIRST camera purchase ever!

I know I want a Canon so my brother and I can share lenses, but other than that I am entirely stumped as to what I should purchase.

I want something to hold me over for the next few years I have of college and then a few more once I go into the working field (at least until I have enough money to upgrade). What body would you recommend?? any advice would be helpful.

Re: New buyer!

What do you like to shoot, how far can you stretch your budget, remember to include lenses and a flash in this price. Even the entry level Canon DSLR's produce great results, so often it is a good idea to save money on the body and invest it in higher quality lenses, however if you are into sports for example you may want a more responsive body, or if you are into landscape you might feel that a full frame sensor will serve you better. these are all questions that only you can answer as there is no holy grail of the perfect combination.