Canon Cameras Equipment Forum

For discussing all things Canon - Canon digital SLRs, Canon PowerShot digital cameras, Canon film cameras, lenses, accessories, etc. Your Canon Cameras Forum moderator is livin4lax09.
Canon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Canon Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 35mm Film SLR Reviews >>
All Canon Product Reviews >>
Canon Cameras & History >>

mm to Optical Zoom conversion?

Hi Guys -

I'm new to the SLR world and I'm used to reading zoom in regards to optical x however i'm seeing SLRs measure in mm. Until I get my feet wet some more with the SLRs - does anyone know where I can find some kind of conversion chart as to what mm = ? optical zoom?

Thanks!

Re: mm to Optical Zoom conversion?

Welcome to PhotographyREVIEW.com, Adgjqetuo!

There isn't really a conversion for the optical zoom specs on compact cameras because that "times" is actually an accurate measure. You could have a 3x optical zoom that's equivalent to 28 to 85mm, and you could also have a 3x optical zoom that's a 100 to 300mm lens. Both are 3x zooms, but they're very, very different lenses. Most point-and-shoot zooms start around the 28 to 35mm wide-angle focal length and go up from there. A 28-85mm is a 3x zoom and a 28-140mm is a 5x zoom. But if the wide part of the lens is 35mm, then those numbers change.

The "times" spec is really just a marketing tool that's trying to tell camera buyers they're getting a certain amount of lens. But we don't really think that way with digital SLRs. Lenses with really big zoom ratios aren't usually very good. We choose a lens for the effect its focal length offers, not the zoom ratio. I don't really want a 10x zoom lens for my DSLR. The optical compromises required for such a lens mean that it probably won't have very good image quality. I'd rather have more than one lens and pick the right one for the job.