Canon Cameras Equipment Forum

For discussing all things Canon - Canon digital SLRs, Canon PowerShot digital cameras, Canon film cameras, lenses, accessories, etc. Your Canon Cameras Forum moderator is livin4lax09.
Canon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Canon Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 35mm Film SLR Reviews >>
All Canon Product Reviews >>
Canon Cameras & History >>

question about aperture

I am new to photography so please be paitent with me. I am looking at EF lenses for my canon but noticed that the aperture is either fixed or a very small range unlike other brands that i have looked at. How do you change the depth of field for these lenses if its a fixed range or say 4-5.6 that doesnt give you much room to play with ? any help to clarify this would be great I dont want to purchase the wrong lens

Check out our D300 Pro Review! deckcadet's Avatar

Re: question about aperture

Don't worry melissa. Most companies, Canon and the other major player Nikon included, only state the maximum aperture in the lens designation. If you look at the full lens specs the minimum aperture is usually stated in a separate section.

When you have an aperture range in the lens designation (ex. f/4.5-5-6 in the case of the 100-400 IS, or 3.5-5.6 in the case of the 18-55mm) it is referring to the variable maximum aperture across the zoom range. The first number is the maximum aperture on the wide end, the second at the long end. You still have a large adjustment range after that.
    Harrison
    Nikon Forum / Digital SLR Forum Moderator | moderator bio
    Check out our new Nikon D300 Pro Review D3 review coming soon...
    Nikon Samurai #9 | NPS Member
    10 Lenses • 5 Bodies • 3 Macs • 1 Sore Back

Smile Re: question about aperture