Canon Cameras Equipment Forum

For discussing all things Canon - Canon digital SLRs, Canon PowerShot digital cameras, Canon film cameras, lenses, accessories, etc. Your Canon Cameras Forum moderator is livin4lax09.
Canon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Canon Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 35mm Film SLR Reviews >>
All Canon Product Reviews >>
Canon Cameras & History >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

The BEST lens for Portraits for the Canon EOS 350D?

Please help!

I am an intermediate photographer and only have my kit lens. And my little pop up flash on the camera.

If you look at my gallery my kit lens does an ok job but, I would like to take clear pictures of active toddlers using only window light.
    I know, I know your shutter speed is slower in these conditions.

Am I barking up the wrong tree?
    Would it be better for me to start by getting an external flash with an omni bounce diffuser rather than a lens.
    I was looking at the Canon speedlite 580EX but would it be better for me to start with the Canon speedlite 430EX? Does the 430EX have a bounce function?

I feel like I am banging my head against a brick wall! I really need some answers!

Re: The BEST lens for Portraits for the Canon EOS 350D?

Nature/Wildlife Forum Co-Moderator Loupey's Avatar

I'll try to give you my 2 cents (er, Schillings is it?) worth even though I am a nature nut and an even bigger available-light nut.

I think you answered your own question when you said, "...using only window light". To me that says 50mm f/1.4 or f/1.8 and the 85mm f/1.8. While I do not have any of these three Canon lenses, I hear that image quality is great. I have used other brands of the same focal length/f-stop combinations and they worked "smashing" for the type of work I think you're looking to do.