Canon Cameras Equipment Forum

For discussing all things Canon - Canon digital SLRs, Canon PowerShot digital cameras, Canon film cameras, lenses, accessories, etc. Your Canon Cameras Forum moderator is livin4lax09.
Canon Digital SLR Reviews >>
Canon Above 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 8 to 10-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 6 to 7-Megapixel Digital Camera Reviews >>
Canon 35mm Film SLR Reviews >>
All Canon Product Reviews >>
Canon Cameras & History >>

Thread: Hi there

Hi there

I am brand new at this camera stuff. Be nice to me, as I'm sure I'll ask some infuriatingly stupid questions.

I felt like I didn't spend enough money on the ridiculously expensive hobby of road cycling, so I thought I'd jump into the ridiculously expensive hobby of photography, too.

I did a lot of research on DSLRs before pulling the trigger this week. I started with contacting a friend who has shot a pretty well-known cyclist who won the Tour de France 7 times, figuring that she should know what she was doing. She said, for my price point ($1,000+/-) that I should get a Canon Rebel. Another friend, a retired photographer from the LA Times, affirmed that choice as proper. A third contact, a photographer from our local paper, chimed in with Canon as well.

Step two was to scour the internet for reviews and deals. I ran the gamut of stores and ebay packages, getting more and more confused at each turn. I had to turn it all off for a while, as my brain went into overload and I was having trouble sorting out details.

I have been a long-time member of RoadBike Review and MTB Review. I remembered seeing "Photography Review" at the bottom of those pages and realized where the best source of information would really be - right here, with people who use this stuff all the time, are passionate about their hobby, are knowledgeable about the technical stuff and are pretty friendly and willing to share what they know.