View Full Version : Nikon D2X Craiglist Post, Scam?


virtualjeff
01-29-2008, 08:09 PM
I am actually a Canon guy and fairly new to photography, but I just saw this on craigslist. Does this price seem right for $900?

Nikon D2x
Lensbaby with +4 and +10 Macro lenses
SB 26 Flash
Stroboframe with Nikon SC-17 adapter

http://minneapolis.craigslist.org/pho/556081588.html

deckcadet
01-29-2008, 08:41 PM
I'd run like crazy. the D2x price has tanked, sure, but you really shouldn't trust anything like that- They still sell for over $1500, oftentimes $2000ish, plus the flash, lensbaby and stroboframe and you're looking at a probable scam at under $1200.

another view
01-30-2008, 05:38 AM
That price is closer for a D2H (not D2Hs) - actually a little high I'd say. I wonder if it's a typo but that would be way too much of a coincidence. They had to know what they paid for it a couple years ago - but that's making an assumption that they did pay for it, if you know what I mean... :idea:

The SB26 and SC17 are from an older flash system that was actually very accurate with film. It was used on the F5 and F100 for example. Hard to believe someone would have a camera that cost $5k new and not upgrade to an SB800...

Frog
01-30-2008, 08:40 AM
If you reply you'll probably find out its in Utah or somewhere and the guy wants to ship it to you. If you respond that you'll be in Utah and can pick it up after looking at it, you'll never hear from him again.

RP Racing
02-02-2008, 03:56 AM
Sounds like a ad in the Madison craigslist a few weeks ago. $900 for teh 2x.

BTW theres a Canon 5d with 75-300 lens, 12GB card, 430X flash, bag, filters and battery grip fro $1300 in Madisons craigslist. My guess its either a scam or stolen.

http://madison.craigslist.org/pho/559726127.html